BWB Asia 2012 Tokyo, 13 to 16 June All Camps

TOKYO 2012 – Basketball without Borders Asia took place between 13 and 16 June 2012 in Tokyo, Japan for the very first time in the history of the programme. Fifty six players from 17 countries across Asia attended the camp, which was held at the National Training Centre. NBA legend Dikembe Mutombo was joined by current players Corey Brewer, Samuel Dalembert, Vladimir Radmanovic as well as Japanese star guard Yuta Tabuse in serving as the coaches. Campers were divided into four teams and took part in daily clinics run by NBA coaches and which focused on basic fundamental drills. In the afternoons and evenings, the teams – each led by an NBA coach – competed in a tournament that spanned over the course of the four days. An All-Star Game was held on the final day, followed by an award ceremony and then a closing dinner for the camp’s participants. Off the court, players participated every day in a programme known as “Life-Skills Seminars” which serves to educate players on subjects such as the importance of leadership, teamwork, education, health, and sportsmanship. BWB also continued its community outreach programmes through the NBA Cares initiative and by hosting a Special Olympics Clinic, two very important elements of the camp.

Camp Photos Camp Videos

FIBA/NBA Coaches

Dave Hopla Former NBA Coach USA
James Borrego New Orleans Hornets USA
Lloyd Pierce Memphis Grizzlies USA
Rolando Blackman Former NBA Coach USA

FIBA/NBA Players

Vladimir Radmanovic Atlanta Hawks Serbia
Yuta Tabuse Former NBA player Japan
Corey Brewer Denver Nuggets USA
Samuel Dalembert Houston Rockets Canada
Dikembe Mutombo NBA Legend Dem.Rep. of Congo

Camp Director

Dean Cooper Portland Trailblazers USA


Koichi Sato Washington Wizards Japan

White Team

Yuki Togashi Japan
Junyong Choi Korea
Tsung-Han Huang Chinese Taipei
Chia-Chun Wu Chinese Taipei
Gibeom Cheon Korea
Chi Zhang China
Seongmo Choi Korea
Xiaoyan Shi China


Yuki Togashi Camp MVP Japan
Rashleigh-Paolo Rivero Sportsmanship Award Philippines
Gibeom Cheon All Star Game MVP Korea
Xinkai Wang 3-Point Shootout Champion China