BWB Africa 2011 Johannesburg, 1 to 4 September All Camps

Johannesburg, South Africa 2011 – Basketball without Borders Africa returned to South Africa from 1-4 September 2011 after holding its first-ever camp in Dakar, Senegal last year. The 2011 BWB Africa camp hosted 60 top players born in 1993 or later and who originated from 24 African countries. Six Former NBA players, including NBA Legends such as 1992 Dream Team member Patrick Ewing, Sydney Olympics gold medalist and 2006 NBA Champion Alonzo Mourning and 1991NBA Slam Dunk Contest champion Dee Brown. Campers were divided into six teams, each of them coached by FIBA/NBA Legends and FIBA/NBA Coaches. After scrimmaging sessions were held, final teams were made up through a draft at the end of the first day. The teams competed in the camp tournament every afternoon during the camp. In the mornings, campers participated in clinics run by the NBA players and which covered basketball fundamentals as well as drills. On the final day of the camp, an All-Star game was held, as well as a shooting contest and an award ceremony, recognizing the best campers in terms of both skill level and sportsmanship. Off the court, campers attended daily Life-Skills seminars in which speakers addressed topics ranging from the importance of leadership to HIV/AIDS awareness and prevention. The NBA players also participated in the BWB’s community outreach programs including a basketball skills clinic for local Special Olympics athletes, building two Habitats for Humanity homes and taking part in health and education activities with Cotlands. On the side of the 2011 BWB Africa camp, a coaches clinic was organized and conducted by a FIBA Expert – Patrick Hunt, and saw more than 40 coaches from South Africa learning and gaining knowledge of the game.

Camp Photos Camp Videos


Abdoulaye Ndoye Senegal
Ahmed Gamal Egypt
Akpara Akita Nigeria
Alain Alvin Abby Cote d'Ivoire
Amadou Sissoko Central African Republic
Andrija Golubovic South Africa
Arafat Moustapha Cameroon
Arnaud Aristide Assale Cote d'Ivoire
Art Viljoen South Africa
Bilel Saddadi Tunisia
Christian Niamazomi Munuana Dem.Rep. of Congo
Dylan Whitbread South Africa
Gypsy Makabu Kanku Dem.Rep. of Congo
Hamaral Hans Kapita Dem.Rep. of Congo
Ismaila Diallo Senegal
Joel Hans Embiid Cameroon
John Edafe Owhe Nigeria
Nkosinathi Festile South Africa
Omar Abada Tunisia
Youssoupha Kane Senegal

Camp Director

Lance Blanks Cleveland Cavaliers USA
Masai Ujiri Denver Nuggets Nigeria

FIBA/NBA Coaches

Milt Newton Washington Wizards USA
Patrick Hunt FIBA Coach Australia
Monty Williams New Orleans Hornets USA
Mark Hughes New York Knicks USA
Lionel Hollins Memphis Grizzlies USA
BJ Johnson Houston Rockets USA
Marc Eversley Toronto Raptors USA


Koichi Sato Washington Wizards USA
Dionne Calhoun Dallas Mavericks USA

FIBA/NBA Players

Dikembe Mutombo Former NBA player Dem.Rep. of Congo
Tamika Raymond WNBA Legend USA
Bo Outlaw Former NBA player USA
Dee Brown Former NBA player USA
Jeff Hornacek Former NBA player USA
Edna Campbell Former WNBA player USA
Patrick Ewing Former NBA player USA
Alonzo Mourning Former NBA player USA


Salif Traoré SAA High Flyer Award Mali
Tégawendé Joël Marie Ange Nongana McDonald's 3-Point Champion Burkina Faso
Arafat Moustapha Nike All Star Game MVP Cameroon
Benoit Mbala Mendzana Nike Camp MVP Cameroon
Hamdi Hattab Karoui Nike All Star Game MVP France