BWB Asia 2007 Shanghai, 5 to 8 July All Camps

SHANGHAI 2007 – The third camp to be held in Asia took place from July 5 – 8 2007 in Shanghai, China. Around 50 Asian players aged 19 and under attended the camp, along with eight NBA players including Yao Ming of the Houston Rockets and former NBA star Scottie Pippen who served as coaches.

Campers were divided into four teams and took part in daily clinics ran by the NBA players focusing on fundamental drills in shooting, passing, etc... In the afternoons and evenings the teams, coached by at least one NBA player, would compete in a small competition that lasted until the final day of the camp. An All-Star game was held on the final day of the camp, followed by an award ceremony.

Off the court, campers attended daily Life-Skills seminars; hour long sessions in which speakers addressed topics ranging from the importance of leadership and teamwork to drug-use education and prevention.
The NBA players also participated in the BWB community outreach programs Legacy Project and NBA Cares. Highlights included a product donation of toys, clothing, toiletries, and other such necessities to various non-governmental organisations as well as participation in an HIV/AIDS awareness event and a Special Olympic Clinic hosted by the NBA players.

Camp Photos Camp Videos

The 2007 camp in Shanghai, China featured 49 players from 16 countries.

The 2007 camp in Shanghai, China featured 8 players and 4 coaches from the NBA and other top leagues affiliated to FIBA.

FIBA/NBA Players

Yao Ming Houston Rockets China
Chris Duhon Chicago Bulls USA
Matt Carroll Charlotte Bobcats USA
Vlade Divac Former NBA player Serbia
Adonal Foyle Former NBA player St.Vincent and the Grenadines
Luther Head Houston Rockets USA
Scottie Pippen Former NBA player USA
Sasha Vujacic Los Angeles Lakers Slovenia

Camp Director

Dean Cooper Houston Rockets USA


Keith D'Amelio Toronto Raptors USA

FIBA/NBA Coaches

Wayne Chapman Denver Nuggets USA
Gary Colson Memphis Grizzlies USA
Jim Lynam Philadelphia 76ers USA
Clay Moser Sacramento Kings USA


Talal Alnuaimi United Arab Emirates
Rashed Alzaabi United Arab Emirates
Yuriy Kozhanov Kazakhstan
Pu Wang China
Tianren Yin China
Ji Wan Kim Korea